Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick, review

Leave a comment


ABOUT THE BOOK

“My name is Mary Seymour and I am the daughter of one queen and the niece of another.”

Browsing antiques shops in Wiltshire, Alison Bannister stumbles across a delicate old portrait – supposedly of Anne Boleyn. Except Alison knows better… The woman is Mary Seymour, the daughter of Katherine Parr who was taken to Wolf Hall in 1557 as an unwanted orphan and presumed dead after going missing as a child.

The painting is more than just a beautiful object from Alison’s past – it holds the key to her future, unlocking the mystery surrounding Mary’s disappearance, and the enigma of Alison’s son.

But Alison’s quest soon takes a dark and foreboding turn, as a meeting place called the Phantom Tree harbours secrets in its shadows…

MY REVIEW

I LOVE time travel stories!  And, while this one was confusing at times, I still enjoyed it and would recommend it to those who love the genre.  And, if you’re a fan of historical fiction, specifically Tudor history, this book is a bonus.  Fans of the Tudors often speculate about what happened to Katherine Parr’s daughter and this book is a fictional telling of her story from the imagination of the author.

The gorgeous cover of this book is what first attracted me.  I’d never read a book by Nicola Cornick before, but after reading the blurb, I requested it on NetGalley.  Told in modern times by Alison and the 16th century by Mary, the story is a fantastical one.  But, the way it’s written it almost seems plausible that one could travel back and forth in time.  My only problem with that aspect of the book is that it’s never really explained how she’s able to time travel until the end.  I was too confused by that point to care.

All in all, it’s an intriguing tale with excellent writing and great characters.  I’m looking forward to her next book.

*Thanks to NetGalley and Harlequin – Graydon House Books for an e-book copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*

Leave a comment