Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeleine, review

Leave a comment


ABOUT THE BOOK:

What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

MY REVIEW:

I’m just going to get the boring aspects of this review out of the way first–  I love the dual narrative, the characters are fantastic, I enjoyed the writing style, I felt like I was there, I want to eat macarons really badly right now.

This is the first book I’ve read by this author.  It has everything I look for when I’m searching for a new book to read and/or review– some sort of historical aspect, easy flow, interesting twists, plots that keep you guessing, a gorgeous cover, and, of course, some romance.  It doesn’t hurt that it was interesting from the start.  Nothing kills a book quicker than a slow beginning.  Life is too short to read a boring book, so make it interesting on the first page!  Laura Madeleine created engaging characters and was able to depict early 1900’s Paris with ease.  In THE CONFECTIONER’S TALE, Petra learns about her grandfather’s surprising life after an autobiographer hints at a scandal.  In an effort to maintain his reputation, she takes it upon herself to find out his story before it’s told to the world.  In the end, the book made me cry.

With a love story peppered (sugared?) with mystery, I give THE CONFECTIONER’S TALE 4 stars ****.

I received an ebook copy of this book from St. Martin’s Press via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

