Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Delilah: Treasonous Beauty by Angela Hunt, review

Leave a comment


ABOUT THE BOOK

Life is not easy in Philistia, especially not for a woman and child alone. When beautiful, wounded Delilah finds herself begging for food to survive, she resolves that she will find a way to defeat all the men who have taken advantage of her. She will overcome the roadblocks life has set before her, and she will find riches and victory for herself.
When she meets a legendary man called Samson, she senses that in him lies the means for her victory. By winning, seducing, and betraying the hero of the Hebrews, she will attain a position of national prominence. After all, she is beautiful, she is charming, and she is smart. No man, not even a supernaturally gifted strongman, can best her in a war of wits.

MY REVIEW

DELILAH: TREASONOUS BEAUTY by Angela is the third book in her Dangerous Beauty series.  The author has a real knack for Biblical Fiction, making the story feel authentic (for those who don’t believe in the Bible) with rich details of a long ago era.

Delilah isn’t mentioned much in the Bible, so mostly I thought of her a woman who betrayed a man who was born to serve God.  This book gave me a different insight into the woman who cut Samson’s hair and took his strength away.  I hadn’t really thought about her past and what drove her in life.  In the end, I felt pity for her and could see the reasons behind her decisions.  Of course, we will never know the true reasons behind the betrayal, but Angela Hunt weaves a compelling argument into the interesting tale.

I’m never disappointed by this author’s books.  I devour them quickly and eagerly await the next one.  This is easily my favourite so far.

With a different look into a well known Biblical story, I give DELILAH: TREASONOUS BEAUTY 5 stars *****.

*I received an ebook copy of this book from Bethany House via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*

 

 

Leave a Reply

