Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Ross Poldark by Winston Graham, review

Leave a comment


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Ross Poldark returns to England from war, looking forward to a joyful homecoming with his beloved Elizabeth. But instead he discovers his father has died, his home is overrun by livestock and drunken servants, and Elizabeth—believing Ross to be dead—is now engaged to his cousin. Ross has no choice but to start his life anew.

Thus begins the Poldark series, a heartwarming, gripping saga set in the windswept landscape of Cornwall. With an unforgettable cast of characters that spans loves, lives, and generations, this extraordinary masterwork from Winston Graham is a story you will never forget.

MY REVIEW:

When I first heard that the new PBS series, Poldark, was going to air, I decided to do what I usually do – read the book first!  I enjoyed the book so much that I have yet to actually watch the series because I don’t want anything to ruin the wonderful experience I’m having reading the series (I’m currently on book two… and there are twelve books in the series.  YIPPEE!!)  I thought I’d want to start watching the series as soon as I finished this book, but I just want to keep reading.

ROSS POLDARK was first published in 1945 (Sourcebooks is reissuing them) and thus, the language is something you’d expect from a novel written back then.  Plus, it’s set in the 1700s, so there is that…  At first, I didn’t think I’d be able to get into the book because of the older type writing.  I’m glad I stuck it out because it didn’t take long for me to get used to the beautiful flow.  Winston Graham has a wonderful way with words – though I did find that some parts were overly described.  He brings social statuses to the forefront and doesn’t mince words when telling about the order of rank and how people at the lower end were treated.  There is a great cast of characters from every spectrum of the social ladder, too.  It was a pleasure to read.

*I received an e-copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*

Leave a Reply

