Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Tiffany Girl by Deeanne Gist, review

Leave a comment


ABOUT THE BOOK

As preparations for the 1893 World’s Fair set Chicago and the nation on fire, Louis Tiffany—heir to the exclusive Fifth Avenue jewelry empire—seizes the opportunity to unveil a state-of-the-art stained-glass mosaic chapel the likes of which the world has never seen.

But when Louis’s dream is threatened by a glassworkers’ strike months before the Fair opens, he turns to an unforeseen source for help: the female students at the New York Art Institute. Eager for adventure, the young women pick up their skirts, move to boarding houses, take up steel cutters, and assume new identities as the “Tiffany Girls.”

Tiffany Girl is the heartwarming story of the impetuous Flossie Jayne, a beautiful budding artist who is handpicked by Louis to help complete the Tiffany chapel. Though excited to be an independent New Woman at a time when most of the fair sex stayed home, she quickly finds the world is less welcoming than she anticipated. From a Casanova male to an unconventional married couple and a condescending singing master, she takes on a colorful cast of characters to transform the boarding house into a home while racing to complete the Tiffany chapel and make a name for herself in the art world.

As challenges mount, her ambitions become threatened from an unexpected quarter: her own heart. What or who will claim victory? Her dreams or the captivating boarder next door?

MY REVIEW

There were things I liked and things I disliked about TIFFANY GIRL, by Deeanne Gist.  This is the first book I’ve read by this author and did enjoy her writing style.  It flowed well, was descriptive, and was engaging for the most part.  I would have liked a bit more about the Tiffany Girls, themselves, but for the most part, it was about the people in the boardinghouse.   I guess what I had the most problem with was the characters.

Flossie was hard to like.  I really tried to.  I liked that she wanted to be a New Woman and work, but I wanted it to go further. I also would have liked to read more about her painting – there was a side story to that I wish would have gone further because there was good potential there.  Also, I didn’t enjoy the romantic aspect of her story, which brings me to Reeve, the other main character.  He was too “main”, in my opinion.  By the title, the book should have been about Flossie and her time at Tiffany.   The book was  too much from his point of view.  Plus, he wasn’t very likable either!  He was sort of a jerk for the most part and I was surprised she fell for him.  I didn’t enjoy the ending –  not that it was bad, it just wasn’t what I wanted for Flossie.

The parts I enjoyed the most revolved around the work done by the Tiffany Girls.  I think they were fascinating, as was the work they did.  The famous Clara Driscoll makes a few appearances (I previously read a book about her that was wonderful).

All in all, it was a good book.

*I received an e-copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*

 

Leave a Reply

