Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Calling Maggie May by Anonymous, review

Leave a comment


ABOUT THE BOOK

A dark and edgy first-person cautionary tale about how one girl’s seemingly minor choices quickly spiraled into a life as a sex worker in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky.

She had a normal life, until one small decision changed everything. Suddenly, there were new possibilities and new experiences.

But not all of those experiences were good.

Read her shocking story in the diary she left behind.

MY REVIEW

This is the first book I’ve read in this series and I’m really looking forward to reading the rest.  I finished it in one sitting because 1- It’s an easy and fast read and 2- it was really captivating from the start.

Although parts of the book didn’t seem plausible (I won’t say which parts because I don’t want to post spoilers.  And besides, what I don’t like, someone else will love!), that didn’t stop me from enjoying it.  I liked the author’s writing style and also that it was told in the form of a journal written by Maggie May herself.  I thought that really gave me more insight into the reasoning behind her decisions and how the consequences affected her.  I wish there had been more character development because they did feel a bit one dimensional and therefore, I had a hard time having feelings for them.  But, all in all, it was a fun read.

Thanks to Michelle at Simon & Schuster Canada for sending this book in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

