Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Season of Storms by Susanna Kearsley, review

Leave a comment


ABOUT THE BOOK:

In the early 1900s, in the elegant, isolated villa Il Piacere, the playwright Galeazzo D’Ascanio lived for Celia Sands. She was his muse and his mistress, his most enduring obsession. And she was the inspiration for his most stunning and original play. But the night before she was to take the stage in the leading role, Celia disappeared. Now, decades later, in a theatre on the grounds of Il Piacere, Alessandro D’Ascanio is preparing to stage the first performance of his grandfather’s masterpiece. A promising young actress – who shares Celia Sands’ name, but not her blood – has agreed to star. She is instantly drawn to the mysteries surrounding the play – and to her compelling, compassionate employer. And even though she knows she should let the past go, in the dark – in her dreams – it comes back.

MY REVIEW:

I want to say I loved this book as much as I loved Susanna Kearsley’s other books but I just can’t.  It was just sort of slow from the start and I often found myself looking at the page numbers and feeling like it would never end.  That’s not to say that it didn’t have its moments.  I just wish the moments hadn’t been so few and far between.

The likes: The cover – beautiful.  The writing – easy to read.  The mystery – keeps you guessing.  The descriptions – flawless.  The ending – unexpected.

The dislikes – The characters – quite flat and not engaging.  The story – extremely boring at some points.  The paranormal – touched on, but not carried through full, imo.

I’d give the book 2.5 stars because I half loved it and half disliked it.

*I received an ebook copy of this book from Sourcebooks via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review*

 

Leave a Reply

