Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

The Collector of Dying Breaths by M.J. Rose, review

1 Comment


ABOUT THE BOOK:

From one of America’s most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici’s court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past.

In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici’s perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years René le Florentine is occasionally called upon to put his vast knowledge to a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen’s rivals.

But it’s René’s other passion—a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him—that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later. That’s when Jac L’Etoile—suffering from a heartache of her own—becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking Rene’s secret to immortality.

Soon Jac’s search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she’s loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, not just in this life but in her next.

Set in the forest of Fontainebleau, crisscrossing the lines between the past and the present, M.J. Rose has written a mesmerizing tale of passion and obsession. This is a gothic tale perfect for fans of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Galbadon.

MY REVIEW:

What can I say about a book that was perfection from start to finish?  It was perfect and I loved every word.  It’s hard to review a book such as this one without it turning into a huge gush-fest about how much I love M.J. Rose and how every book she writes is even better than the last and how I don’t even know how that is possible because each book is superb.  How do I even begin to explain how complex and real the characters were and how much I came to like them – and how often I think of them still and wonder what they might be doing now.  I could probably go on and on about the fact that the book jumps from history to present day and back again with all sorts of parallels and twists and turns, making me feel like I was in the midst of the stories being told, seeing, smelling, and feeling what they all did.  But, mostly I just want to say that I could hardly put it down and when I HAD to put it down, I was thinking about it.

And, it’s for all these reasons that THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS  is simply amazing and there just aren’t enough words to convey it.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

M.J. Rose

M.J. Rose is the international best selling author of fourteen novels and two non-fiction books on marketing. Her fiction and non-fiction has appeared in many magazines and reviews including Oprah Magazine. She has been featured in the New York Times, Newsweek, Time, USA Today and on the Today Show, and NPR radio. Rose graduated from Syracuse University, spent the ’80s in advertising, has a commercial in the Museum of Modern Art in NYC and since 2005 has run the first marketing company for authors – Authorbuzz.com. The television series PAST LIFE, was based on Rose’s novels in the Renincarnationist series. She is one of the founding board members of International Thriller Writers and runs the blog- Buzz, Balls & Hype. She is also the co-founder of Peroozal.com and BookTrib.com.

Rose lives in CT with her husband the musician and composer, Doug Scofield, and their very spoiled and often photographed dog, Winka.

For more information on M.J. Rose and her novels, please visit her website. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads.

Check out other stops on this blog tour, click HERE.  Many thanks to Amy for allowing me to be part of this tour.  You’re the best!

TCODB_Tour Banner_FINAL

Advertisements

One thought on “The Collector of Dying Breaths by M.J. Rose, review

  1. I have to read this one, then!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s