Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Glamorous Illusions by Lisa Tawn Bergren

Leave a comment


Book Description:

When Cora Kensington learns she is the illegitimate daughter of a copper king, her life changes forever. Even as she explores Europe with her new family, she discovers that the most valuable journey is within. The first book in the Grand Tour series takes you from the farms of Montana through England and France on an adventure of forgiveness, spiritual awakening, and self-discovery.

My Review:

I was first drawn to Glamorous Illusions by Lisa Tawn Bergren because of the lovely cover (Eiffel Tower, duh).  And, I really enjoy historical fiction and Christian fiction so this book was right up my alley.

Unfortunately, the book really fell flat for me.  It was really descriptive – which normally is a good thing but it seemed more care was put into describing the non important aspects of the story and not enough into the things that really enhanced the story.  One example is The Tour.  They went to all these amazing places and the descriptions were so lean, I couldn’t even envision what they were seeing.

Cora, the main character, started to get on my nerves almost immediately.  I think the author tried to make her progressive in her thinking, a feisty girl with a mind of her own, but I just found her annoying.  Most times, I was just wishing she’d not talk.  The alternating points of view in each chapter didn’t bother me, in fact, I really liked that aspect of the book.  I didn’t like how it went from first person (Cora’s chapters) to third person (the chapters told by the male characters).

The plot was unbelievable but also overdone (if that makes sense).  Plus, at the end of the book they are suddenly all held hostage and it gets completely weird and soap opera-ish.  I didn’t mind the writing itself.  I think she’s a good author and her books have great reviews.  I will probably give her another chance and read the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

