Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Dance, Gladys, Dance by Cassie Stocks, review

Leave a comment


DANCE, GLADYS, DANCE by Cassie Stocks – (From Amazon)

27-year-old Frieda Zweig is at an impasse. Behind her is a string of failed relationships and half-forgotten ambitions of being a painter; in front of her lies the dreary task of finding a real job and figuring out what “normal” people do with their lives. Then, a classified ad in the local paper introduces Frieda to Gladys, an elderly woman who long ago gave up on her dreams of being a dancer.The catch? Gladys is a ghost.In Dance, Gladys, Dance, Cassie Stocks tells the uplifting story of a woman whose uncanny connection with a kindred spirit causes her to see her life in a new way—as anything but ordinary.

My Review –

When an offer comes up to review a book by a Canadian author, I always jump at the chance.  And, when the story is set IN Canada, it’s even better.

Frieda is a completely imperfect heroine and I loved her.  Hands up if you’re tired of reading about perfect people ALL the time!  *two hands way up, waving like crazy*  She’s 27, sleeps with the wrong men, has some jobs that will take her nowhere and she’s an artist who doesn’t paint.  Then she finds an ad in a paper that completely changes her life – she meets Gladys.  Gladys is a ghost.  And, that’s all I’m telling!

I can’t think of the last time a book made me laugh (many times!) and cry (again, many times!).  There aren’t many books that are funny and heart wrenching at the same time, but Cassie Stocks has succeeded in making Dance, Gladys, Dance one of them.  I seriously snorted out loud several times.  I could really relate to some of the characters, especially Frieda.  Speaking of the characters, what an interesting mix of people.  Yet, when they all came together, they were like the cool family you’ve always wanted.  It’s unlike any other story I’ve read before and for a debut novel, that’s impressive.  Plus, since it’s set in Canada, it was cool reading about places I’ve actually been.

This book goes right on my ‘best books of 2012’ pile.  Many thanks to Diane from The Saima Agency for sending me a review copy.

Come back tomorrow for a guest post from Cassie – and a giveaway for my Canadian readers.

Leave a Reply

