Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Kissing Shakespeare by Pamela Mingle, review

Leave a comment


I really love Shakespeare and believe me, if I thought time travel was possible (and if I could afford it) I’d be the first in line to try it.  So, of course, this book really appealed to me.  Pamela Mingle combines the two in her YA book, KISSING SHAKESPEARE.

After a horrible opening night performance in her school’s production of The Taming of the Shrew, Miranda is confronted by another of the actors, Stephen – and he has a proposition for her.  He wants her to travel back to the 16th century, the era he’s really from, and seduce William Shakespeare who is considering joining the church.  And, if that happens, he won’t write many of his most famous plays, including Romeo and Juliet.  She scoffs, but in the end she does end up in England.

I enjoyed the story and the writing style made it a quick, easy read.  I would have liked a lot more seduction and bit less of the ‘churchy’ bits.  While I don’t mind reading about God and religion, with a title like KISSING SHAKESPEARE, I didn’t expect so much of it.  It seems that in an attempt to make the book more historically correct, the author went a bit overboard on that aspect and for me, lost the plot.

I still would recommend reading the book because there were a lot of things I did like about it.  Perhaps it’s more suited to a reader younger than I.  :p

*I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*

Leave a Reply

