Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella, review

Leave a comment


I really enjoy chick lit sometimes – it’s a nice break from historical fiction which can get heavy sometimes.  There are moments when you just need something light and easy to read.  I’ve Got Your Number is just such a book.  Not that “light and easy to read” are bad things.  In the world of (brit) chick lit, it’s a GREAT thing!  When I’m looking to switch genres for a quick read, I want a book exactly like this.  So it did not disappoint.

This is the first Sophie Kinsella book I’ve read that is not in the Shopaholic series.  I loved it every bit as much as the other books I’ve read.  It’s smart, charming, touching and funny.  The story isn’t predictable and contains lots of juicy twists and turns.  I really love a heroine, Poppy, in this case, that acts before she thinks about the consequences of her actions – it makes the book so much more fun!

One aspect of the book that I really liked was that there are footnotes at the end of each chapter!  It’s a neat (and unique) way to let Poppy explain herself.  Very smart idea.  My only complaint on this is that it’s easier to go back in the chapter to see what each footnote pertains to if it’s a paper book.  I didn’t find it super easy on the e-book.

Book Description

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry her ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As she paces shakily around the lobby, she spots an abandoned phone in a trash can. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!

Well, perfect except that the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading his messages and wading into his personal life.

What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls, and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents . . . she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

I received an e-copy of this book from Netgalley and Random House (The Dial Press) in exchange for my honest review.  
Leave a Reply

