Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Havah: The Story of Eve by Tosca Lee, review

Leave a comment


Havah: The Story of Eve by Tosca Lee is, as the title says, the story of the first woman.  I’ve been fascinated by her since I was young and the Bible doesn’t say much after the fruit fiasco.  What a hard life she must have had.  I couldn’t help but wonder what it must have been like for her.

This book is written so beautifully that not only did I get a good idea about her life before and after the serpent, but I felt I was there with her, feeling her euphoria, her pain, her sadness and her happiness.  The relationship between her and ‘the adam’ completely intrigued me.  The highs were so high and the lows so low, I was amazed that they could keep coming together, remembering the love they had while in Eden.  But, it was the relationship with ‘The One’ that was most alluring to me.  When they had to leave the garden, and He no longer spoke with them like He had on a regular basis, how frightened they must have been.  I could feel the agony of Havah begging God to speak with her, show her a sign, anything.  Her faith was amazing.

I can’t remember reading a book so powerful and so mesmerizing before.  It was stunning from start to finish, like lyrics without the music.  Tosca Lee holds nothing back, weaving the well-known Bible story into a captivating tale of starting over.  I was profoundly moved by the beauty of the story.  I highly recommend it even if you normally don’t read Biblical stories.

“I have seen paradise and ruin.  I have known bliss and terror.  I have walked with God.”

Leave a Reply

