Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Tout Sweet by Karen Wheeler – Review

Leave a comment


I don’t often read memoirs, but when April from Sourcebooks contacted me about Tout Sweet by Karen Wheeler, and I read “imagine if Bridget Jones were let loose in rural France with the style of Carrie Bradshaw”, I knew I just had to read it!

I have often wanted to leave it all behind (aside from hubby and the kids, of course) and move to France myself.  With a broken heart, Brit Karen Wheeler  moves on with her life and does just that.  And while her new home leaves a lot to be desired, the warmth of her ‘unique’ neighbours help keep her mind off her problems.

Tout Sweet is an easy read that is hard to put down.  I wanted to keep going into the night to find out what would happen next.  It’s very descriptive and it wasn’t difficult to imagine myself there with Karen, having a glimpse into her life.    But more importantly, I loved ‘watching’  her grow and move on and make her own dreams come true.

It’s a great summer read!

Leave a Reply

