Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Cinder and Ella by Melissa Lemon

Leave a comment


I have always loved a good fairy tale, so when I came across Cinder and Ella by Melissa Lemon, I knew I had to read it!

To be clear, it isn’t really a re-telling of the story ‘Cinderella’.  It’s more of a remake.  Cinder and Ella are sisters – and they have a couple of spoiled sisters and a clueless mother who makes them do all the work.  The similarities end there.  The rest of the story is wonderful and imaginative with magical trees and an evil prince.  I really enjoyed the supernatural twist Melissa gave the classic story.  I can’t wait to see which fairy tale she takes on next!

Cinder and Ella is Melissa’s first book, but with an imagination like she has, I’m pretty sure it won’t be the last.   She is wonderfully descriptive and was able to set the scenes so I could envision them in my mind.  I liked the characters, good and bad, and enjoyed the fact that the book had a moral – hard work will pay off in the end!

As an adult I really enjoyed this book.  I think my daughters would enjoy it, too.  In fact, it might be more geared to a younger audience.  Still, I would definitely read it again and read more of her books in the future.

THIS BOOK WAS PROVIDED BY NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEW.

Leave a Reply

