Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Venetia by Georgette Heyer – review

Leave a comment


I fall more in love with Georgette Heyer with each book I read!  What a wonderful talent she was.  I’m so glad that Sourcebooks is reissuing her books – without them, I may not have ever picked up a copy as they are not my regular genre.

Anyway, VENETIA is probably the best of the Heyer’s I’ve read so far.  I love Venetia as a character.  I bet other characters in other books wish they were her.  She is smart and funny and possesses that special something that makes people want to flock to her.  She is the type of person whose beauty doesn’t matter because people would love her anyway.  Demarel didn’t stand a chance and neither will you!

I’ve heard this said about Heyer so many times, but it’s so true – her writing is witty.  The writing can be hard at times – remember it was originally published in 1958 – but you get used to it after a bit.  And while the storyline may seem a bit transparent, the twists, turns and exceptional characters and dialogue, made it a delight to read.

FROM SOURCEBOOKS:

 

A young lady of beauty and intelligence facing an unbearable choice…

Venetia Lanyon is one of Georgette Heyer’s most memorable heroines. Beautiful, capable, and independent minded, her life on the family’s estate in the countryside is somewhat circumscribed. Then a chance encounter with her rakish neighbor opens up a whole new world for Venetia. Lord Damerel has built his life on his dangerous reputation, and when he meets Venetia, he has nothing to offer and everything to regret. As Venetia’s well-meaning family steps in to protect her from potential ruin, Venetia must find the wherewithal to take charge of her own destiny, or lose her one chance at happiness…

Leave a Reply

