Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Queen By Right by Anne Easter Smith – Review

Leave a comment


Queen by Right by Anne Easter Smith is a novel of the Plantagenets as seen through the eyes of Cicily of York – it is the fourth book written by Anne about this period in history.  The King’s Grace, A Rose for the Crown and Daughter of York are the first three.

This is a long, juicy novel at 528 pages.  But, it reads pretty quick because it was well written – and not only that, it was written from a different perspective which was a nice change.  Admittedly, I haven’t read much about Cecily so I’m not sure how others have portrayed her, but I liked her in this book.  She was strong – and not all women of this time period were.  Not to mention the fact that she had so many children – two of them would become king – she had to be strong!  Anne’s portrayal of her made her easy to like and I was swept easily in her life.  She is a real inspiration to me for all her strength and smarts and how she was able to use them to her and her families benefit.

This is the first book I’ve read by Anne Easter Smith.  I enjoyed it quite a lot!  If her previous three books are as good, I can’t wait to read them, too.  I think she did a wonderful job in bringing the 15th century to life in a way that is very detailed and researched.

Check out this VIDEO I found on the author’s site.

 

Leave a Reply

