Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Hawk of May by Gillian Bradshaw – Review

Leave a comment


Hawk of May by Gillian Bradshaw is a new and different take on the old Arthurian legend.  It is book one in a trilogy and tells us of  Gawain (King Arthur’s nephew/Morgause’s son), a middle child, struggling to find himself.  He doesn’t have the talent of his other brothers and therefore is looked down on by members of his family.  He then decides to learn the black arts from his mother, even though he hates his decision to do so.

I’ve always loved reading about the legend that is King Arthur so when I had a chance to read this one, I jumped at the chance.  Gillian Bradshaw is a new author to me, even though she has been writing for awhile now  (this book was actually written in 1981) and I can only say thank you to Sourcebooks for reprinting stories such as this and giving us all an opportunity to read out of print books.

What a great writer Gillian Bradshaw is.  Really just one of the most vivid books I’ve read in ages.  I love reading a book that I think about all the time and whose characters sneak into my dreams!  I will definitely read the rest of her books in the future.

Many thanks to Sourcebooks for providing me this copy to read and review.

Leave a Reply

