Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

His Last Letter: Elizabeth I and the Earl of Leicester by Jean Westin – Review

Leave a comment


His Last Letter, Jeane Westin’s sophomore release, tells the story of Elizabeth I and Robert Dudley and their tumultuous friendship and love affair.  The book opens with the Queen hearing of the death of her childhood friend and receiving a letter he wrote on his deathbed – his last letter.

After that, the book moves back and forth from the couples younger years to about three years before she gets the letter.  I really loved that aspect of the book – jumping between the two time periods gave better clarity to their relationship.

I’ve never been a fan of either Elizabeth or Dudley.  This book didn’t change that for me, I didn’t expect it would.  However that didn’t take away from how much I enjoyed His Last Letter.  All in all, the book is historically accurate with just a bit of leniency on Ms. Westin’s part that adds to the story.  She was able to convey pure and raw emotion through her words, giving the main characters voices after all these years.  You can tell the subject is close to the authors heart as you read her words.  Books written from the heart are the best ones to read.

Many thanks to Kaitlyn at Berkley/NAL for sending me a copy of this book for review.

Leave a Reply

