Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Secrets of the Tudor Court: The Pleasure Palace by Kate Emerson

Leave a comment


I finished this one awhile ago and just realized I haven’t written my review yet!  I really enjoyed the book.  I’ve never heard of Jane Popyncourt before so discovering something new about the Tudor era was great.  I pretty much devour anything and everything I can find to do with the Tudors.

The French Jeanne comes from France with her mother and is soon serving the ladies Mary and Margaret (as a French tutor) and befriending the young Henry.  She remains at court once she is grown up and becomes immersed in its intrigues.

The Pleasure Palace was easy to get into and hard to put down.  Kate Emerson is a great writer with great style and filled the pages with love, hate, mystery and sex – everything you’d expect in Henry VIII’s court.  Her descriptive writing captured the era to perfection and made it effortless to picture the sights and sounds.  I can’t wait to read her next book in the series, Secrets of the Tudor Court: Between Two Queens.

Leave a Reply

