Book Drunkard

“I am simply a 'book drunkard.' Books have the same irresistible temptation for me that liquor has for its devotee. I cannot withstand them.” L.M. Montgomery

Book Review

Leave a comment


Virginie Says…

To the Tower Born is the second book I’ve read that’s written by Robin Maxwell – the first being The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn.  I like her writing style.  It’s easy to follow, doesn’t get extremely repetitive and is all in all, very readable.

First off, there are some historical discrepancies, but since I’m certainly not a history major, I won’t get into those.  I suppose people that are sticklers for accuracy might find this annoying.  I’m of the opinion that people who write historical FICTION are allowed to take some liberties – unless they are totally blatant.

The story is about the disappearance of young King Edward V and his brother, Richard (Dickon), after they are put in the Tower by their uncle, Richard of Gloucester for ‘safe keeping’.  The story is basically told from the perspective of princes’ sister, Bessie(who would go on to become mother to Henry VIII) and her friend, Nell Caxton.  I like Nell – a lot!  She’s the type of friend I’d like to have.  She’s loyal, smart, funny and strong.  She becomes god mother to Henry VIII and together, they tell him the story of the princes.

As so not to give away any spoilers, I’ll stop there.  I found the book an interesting account of what might have happened to the Princes.

Leave a Reply

